

# The Shamrock Club of Columbus General Meeting Minutes

**January 7<sup>th</sup>, 2024** 

Meeting called to order: 2:27 pm EST

**Opening Prayer: PP Mary Grady Strickland** 

Irish National Anthem & American National Anthem:

PP Karen Komatsu, PP Andy Shuman, Mike McConahay, Karen Fahy, Ken Bowen

**Approval of Minutes:** 

**Treasurers report: by Treasurer Doug Dempsey** 

available credit card \$9,565

Columbus Foundation \$32,089

Restricted funds \$61,090

. Total cash position: \$75,645

**Membership Report: by Chairman Julie Fulton** 

Membership activity through Jan 6<sup>th</sup>, 2024

- 276 total members
- 218 renewed members
- 58 new members
- 215 full-rights voting members

## Membership by category

- \*85 family (including children)
- \*49 general
- \*50 pub
- \*92 senior
- Renew your membership for 2024 membership. Remember that Shamrock Club memberships run through a calendar year. If you joined for the first time in 2023, you will renew for 2024.
- Questions about membership? Ask Julie Fulton.

# Seanachai report: Chairman Jim Casey is in South Carolina

• Reports are due by the 21st of the month

# **Sunshine Report: by Mary Grady Strickland**

- Congratulations to Scott Robinson- Hibernian of the Year
- Congratulations to Rich and Karen Finn- Clann na nGael Honorees
- Congratulations to Macy McNeely for being named to Capital University's Provost List
- Happy Birthday to Lois O'Reilly January 3rd
- Keep Kim Conley in your prayers
- Keep John O'Brien in your prayers
- Keep the shamrock Club in your prayers

•

# **Entertainment Report: by Chairman Mike Murphy**

- Friday January 26<sup>th</sup>- the Pints
- Friday February 23<sup>rd</sup>- Oxbow String Co
- Proclamation Day- Mossy Moran
- St Patricks Day- the Ladies of Longford
- Beth Motika- Quiz night January 12th at 7pm.

## Clann na nGael Reports:

- Sharon Tantes- DOE has named Cheryl Costello as Member of the Year
- Bruce McPherson- Clann na nGael Dinner Saturday February 3rd
- Nora Feeney- February 14<sup>th</sup> at Ronald McDonald House- 15 volunteers are needed. Go to sign-up genius to help. Monetary donations are accepted also.
- Christina McConahay has captured eight cats, and there will be a blood drive Feb 11th

## **New Business:**

- President Nancy Murphy has revealed her badge, and awardees:
- Presidential award winners- Mark Syx and Kyle Collins
- Member of the Year- Christina McConahay
- Irishman of the Year- Mike Murphy
- Parade Grand Marshall- Tim Feeney

PP Karen Komatsu will be selling tables for the Irish Family reunion.

Mary Grady Strickland -get your tickets for the St Patrick's Day 50/50 !!!

#### 50/50 Drawing:

• \$227 to the winner- Brendan O'Reilly (2022 Member of the year Tracee Collins attempted to claim the prize with a non-winning ticket, but her plan was foiled)

**Elected Officials Present: Doris Dawson- Village of Harrisburg** 

Past Presidents Present:	
Bob Basbagill 2005	Karen Komatsu 2023
Patrick Byrne 2001	Molly Byrne 2011
Ed Gaughan 2016	Brian O'Reilly 2017
Brendan O'Reilly 2007	Mike Murphy 2014
Bob Irwin 1993	Jim Graham 1986
Andy Shuman 2021 & 2022	Mary Grady Strickland 2018
Mike Redmond 2015	Tim Feeney 2004
Rich Clemons 2002	Pat Fallon 2012
Motion to Adjourn: by Ed Gaughan, 2nd by Doris Dawson.	
Closing Prayer by Mary Grady Strickland	
Meeting adjourned at 3:25 pm	
Respectfully submitted,	
Pat Conley, secretary	
Upcoming Events:	
General Meeting February 4th	
General Meeting February 18th	